The Gear List, or What I Need to Bring With Me (For a Goldilocks Pack)

One of the innumerable benefits of booking my Grand Canyon rim-to-rim hike with a professional tour company is this: Every bit of planning from before dawn on day one until we’ve emptied the tank on day five has been done for me. If I were on my own, I would have absolutely no idea what specifically I will need down there. Here’s what my guide service, Wildland Trekking Company, provides for the hike:

  • Top-of-the-line tent, sleeping pad, sleeping bag and technical backpack.
  • Use of trekking poles
  • All meals are included from breakfast the first day through lunch on the last day
  • A professional, knowledgeable, certified Grand Canyon hiking guide
  • Roundtrip transportation from your hotel in Flagstaff, Arizona to the Grand Canyon and back
  • Entrance fees and national park permits
  • Emergency equipment including a company-issued first-aid kit and satellite phone
  • You will receive a Lifetime Hiking Membership entitling you, your spouse and kids to a lifetime discount of 10% off any Wildland Trekking hiking trip after your first one!

I tend to be an over-packer. In general, I’d rather have it and not need it than vice-versa. For this trip, though, there’s just not room for anything I won’t actually need. By day 5 I’m going to feel every single fraction of an ounce of gear. I want a Goldilocks pack. Here’s what I’ll need to bring with me:

GearChecklist

A lot of this is pretty common sense, of course. I wonder how many of their guests show up in flip flops and jeans? Anyway, I’ve put big red checks in the boxes for the clothing and gear I already own or have accumulated. Here are the specifics:

I’m really only still in the market for a headlamp (I’ve got some contenders, but I’m not ready to pull the trigger) and sunglasses (trying to decide between fit-over style or prescription). I’ll have individual posts on the gear and clothing–how and why I chose it, and how I like it so far–and I’ll follow up when I get back with reviews on how everything did in situ.

 

 

About JT

Professional receptionist, amateur actor, in training to hike the Grand Canyon from rim to rim in July, 2017.
This entry was posted in Gear, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Gear List, or What I Need to Bring With Me (For a Goldilocks Pack)

  1. Pingback: Marmot PreCip Rain Jacket, or I Got Exactly What I Wanted (on Clearance) | DOWN Is Optional, UP Is Mandatory

Leave a Reply

